39 Venturer Scouts presented with Peak Award at Government House

Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC and Mr Wilson, with the 39 Venturer Scout Peak Award Recipients.

At a ceremony held on Saturday 18 March at Government House, Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC, presented 39 Venturer Scouts with their Venturer Scout Peak Award (previously known as the Queen’s Scout Award). This peak award widens the interests and knowledge of Venturer Scouts and encourages them to ‘look wide’. The award is designed to be engaging and challenging for Venturer Scouts aged 14-18.  

To achieve this prestigious award, a Venturer Scout must be able to set goals; plan progress towards those goals; organise themselves and others; while maintaining the determination to overcome opportunities and complete the task. They must also have achieved up to stage 5 in Bushwalking, Bushcraft and Camping, along with 12 progressions with the Outdoor Adventure Skills and 6 Special Interest Areas along with their Adventurous Journey, and a Leadership or Personal Development Course. Achieving a Venturer Scout Peak Award at some universities qualifies the recipient with extra ATAR Points.

Many of the awardees have also had the additional challenges of the pandemic, bushfires and floods impacting the way that they could complete the requirements for the award and reach their goals. To have achieved this award during such a tumultuous period of time is a testament to their dedication and resilience.

As a representative of the awardees, Venturer Scout Justin Laver spoke to the unique challenges that were faced by this cohort of recipients. “I, along with my fellow awardees, overcame floods, lockdowns, fires and many other challenges to achieve this prestigious peak award. We have bushwalked, abseiled, learned new languages, sailed and even knitted our way to learning new skills or developing those we already had… For us to have achieved this award during this time has shown how resilient and persistent we can be.”

“Completion of the Peak Award is a major milestone in a Venturer Scout journey and carries an outstanding reputation within Scouting and the wider community,” said Neville Tomkins OAM JP, Chief Commissioner, Scouts NSW.  “On behalf of Scouts NSW, I congratulate our peak award recipients and look forward to them returning to their local Scouting community to inspire younger Scouts.”

This cohort of recipients reflect the diversity of modern Scouts. Peak award recipients from a variety of backgrounds have worked independently and collectively to achieve great personal development and contribute positively to their communities.


  • Toby Chandiok, Epping
  • Tegan Edwards, 1st Dural
  • Karla Fernandez-Montoya, 1st Woollahra/Paddington
  • Ian Howsam, Epping
  • Emma Keene, 1st Swansea
  • Thomas Lukin, 1st Blaxland
  • Max Moran, 1st East Roseville
  • Daniel Oakey, 1st Blaxland
  • Olivia Roth, 1st Belmont
  • Sayuni Wijayatunga, 1st Balcombe Heights
  • Jasmine Rowe, 1st Westmead
  • Rebecca Halcomb, 2nd St Ives
  • Bailey Budd, 1st Jerrabomberra
  • Jacob Burakowski, 1st Kellyville
  • Mia Clarke, 1st Ourimbah
  • Joe Clasie, 2nd Baulkham Hills
  • Llewelyn Colebourn, Epping
  • Isabella Denniss, Epping
  • Zach Dorahy, Coffs Harbour
  • Aiden Gardner, Iron Cove
  • Evelyn Genge, Kyogle
  • Laura Harris, 1st Jerrabomberra
  • Aidan Hart, 2nd Baulkham Hills
  • Taylor Hawke, 1st Mittagong
  • Jessica Hay, Georges River
  • Alexander Jurgs, 1st Mittagong
  • Roisin Kennedy, 1st Byattunga
  • Justin Laver, 3rd Bathurst (All Saints Cathedral)
  • Matthew Loveridge, 2nd Baulkham Hills
  • Rory McFarlane, 1st Asquith
  • Adam McMahon, 1st Narwee
  • Brianna Morcom, 2nd St Ives
  • Valeria Orts, 1st Kellyville
  • Samadhi Patradoon, 1st Yaralla
  • Gerald Selvaraj, 1st Narwee
  • Jamie Sharpe, 1st Byattunga
  • Joshua Tobin, 1st South Wallsend
  • Myles Waciega, 2nd Baulkham Hills
  • Lachlan Watts, Lones

Sign-up, volunteer, and join today!