Award Scheme

The Boomerang Award Scheme teaches Cub Scouts everyday skills, and is the major training program method for the Section.

There are 14 tasks that must be completed for each level of the Scheme (Gold, Silver and Bronze). These tasks include:

  • Health and First Aid
  • Safety
  • Ropes
  • Outdoor Scouting
  • Our Cub Scout Traditions
  • Symbols of Australia
  • Fitness
  • People and Cultures
  • Scientific Discovery
  • The Natural Environment
  • Self Expression
  • Handcraft
  • Your Community
  • Promise and Law


Achievement Badge Scheme

The Achievement Badge Scheme recognises each Cub's individual interest areas. Cub Scouts can choose from 34 badges, encompassing the arts and literature; nature, science and technology; sports and recreation; and the wider world.

Special Interest Badges

There are also seven Special Interest Badges for Cub Scouts: Landcare Badge; Local History Badge; Waterwise Badge; Our Heritage Badge; Language Emblem; Faith Awareness Badge; World Conservation Badge; and Cub Scout Leadership Course Badge.

Grey Wolf Award

The Grey Wolf Award is the ultimate award for a Cub Scout. This can be attained by participating in a number of outdoor activities, attending Pack Councils, achieving a number of Level 2 Achievement Badges and Special Interest Badges, and developing a Jungle Book group resource.

When each component of the Grey Wolf Award has been completed, a request is submitted to the State Office for approval by the Branch Commissioner (Cub Scout). See the links below for the relevant forms.

More information

Contact our membership hotline on 1800 SCOUTS (1800 726 887) or  [email protected] about the Scout Award Scheme.

  • Scouts takes child safety seriously

    Scouts takes child safety seriously

    Scouts takes child safety seriously

    Read more about our CHILD SAFETY policies

    Whats Next?


    Whats Next?